MY Summer Reading List

I know I know I know.

I am the worst part-time blogger ever. I can’t even call myself a part-time blogger because even that is a stretch. A sometimes-when-I-remember-and-am-feeling-motivated blogger is more accurate. HOWEVER, I truly plan on putting in more time on this blog because I am officially a librarian!

*throws confetti and jumps up and down*

Not only am I a librarian, but I managed to land my dream job as a children’s librarian at a library in Massachusetts. HOLLA! #nailedit

So, I plan on making an honest effort in posting at least once a week about books I’ve read/and excited about and any YA book/movie/tv news. No, really, I will do a better job maintaining this blog. Ugh, I’m already disappointed in myself. Whatevs.

To kick-off my string of soon-to-be-written posts, I’ve decided to dedicate this one to all the books I am determined to read this summah. I managed to whittle this list down to 15 books, but I really hope to read more. Judging by my current book slump, it’s not looking too good for me, but I’m DETERMINED.

SOOOOO here we go: (I’ll even categorize this list for everyone #librarianstatus (I need to lay off excessive use of hashtags))

(Side note: you can click on the cover to get a longer summary of the book)

15. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken *Dystopian

The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1) Children with frightening/extraordinary abilities that they cannot control. I’m in.

14. Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis *Dystopian

Not a Drop to Drink (Not a Drop to Drink, #1) Survival story in a world that is running a tad low on clean water. I plan to use this as a “how-to-survive-in-a-post-apocalyptic-world” guidebook.

13.  The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater *Fantasy

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2) Second book in the Raven Boys series. Scottish mythology. Enough said. PLUS, love me some Ronan and Gansey.

12. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor *Fantasy

Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1) All I know about this one is that I should have read it AGES ago because apparently it is fantastic. *hangs head*

11. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes *Fantasy

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1) Based on reading and re-reading the summary on Goodreads, it sounds like a truly epic story. I need it right meow.

10. Splintered by A.G. Howard *Fantasy

Splintered (Splintered, #1) An Alice in Wonderland re-telling? Sold.

9. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski *Fantasy

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1) I’ve heard nothing but excellent things about this one. Also, any book with a cover that beautiful and a story featuring a kick-ass heroine automatically has me hooked.

8. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern *Fantasy

The Night Circus A circus arrives bringing along two competing magicians. That PLUS a dash of romance= me, swooning.

7. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins *Contemporary

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1) A southern belle attains supernatural abilities and proceeds to kick butt. GIMMIE.

6. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo *Fantasy

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2) Second installment in Bardugo’s GRISHA trilogy. The third one hit stores yesterday. I just need more of awesome Alina.

5. Maye One Day by Melissa Kantor *Contemporary

Maybe One Day Two bff’s: one is diagnosed with cancer, and the other is rather…. difficult. Intrigued.

4. Paper Towns by John Green *Contemporary

Paper Towns Features a boy road trippin’ across the U.S. to find a girl who disappeared. Obvs there is more to this story, Mr. Green.

3. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandry Nelson *Contemporary

The Sky is Everywhere Lennie comes into her own while dealing with/facing the grief after her sister’s death. Lemme grab the tissues now.

2. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson *Contemporary

Second Chance Summer I recently hopped on the Morgan Matson train because her books are, in fact, wonderful. Plus this has “summer” in the title, sooooooo I gotta read it now.

AAAAND THE NUMBER ONE BOOK ON MY SUMMER READING LIST IS………..

……………………………………………….

1. Looking for Alibrandi by (the literary goddess) Melina Marchetta *Contemporary

Looking for Alibrandi This is the last book by Marchetta that I have left to read. Aaaand that is absolutely why I have been putting off reading it.. because then I have no more Melina Marchetta…. and that makes me feel nauseous. But I know that I am destined to love this book so it needs to be read and loved and read and loved.

 

Sooooooooo as you can see, I have quite the list going. There are manymanymany more books on my shelf that need to be read as well, so I’ll keep you all updated.

Until then, happy reading!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

